Tourist attractions - Refreshingly Sri Lanka

The island of Sri Lanka is a small universe. It contains as many variations of culture, scenery and climate as some countries a dozen times its size”.

By Sir Arthur C. Clarke

Sri Lanka Tourism under the theme of ‘Refreshingly Sri Lanka’ offers multiple experiences in one naturally diversified destination for tourists who visit Sri Lanka. 

The "Refreshingly Sri Lanka" experience offers eight (08) categories of tourism attractions as follows:



*      Pristine            

-   Beaches

*      Thrills  

-   Sports and Adventure

*      Heritage

-   Heritage Sites

*      Bliss

-   Mind Body Wellness

*      Scenic

-   Scenic Beauty

*      Wild

-   Wild Life and Nature

*      Essence

-   People and Culture

*      Festive            

-   Year Round Festivals


A history stretching back to the Sixth Century BC has endowed this island with the richest treasury of ancient cities, shrines and temples. In other words, Sri Lanka was already a land thriving with vitality and highly advanced civilization with cities, palaces, reservoirs, parks, monasteries, temples and work of art. 

This rich history has been recognized by the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (the UNESCO) in declaring eight (08) “World Heritage Sites” in Sri Lanka, which is only twice the size of Hainan Island of China.

The UNESCO World Heritage Sites of Sri Lanka are as follows:

1.      The Ancient City of Polanaruwa (1982)

2.      The Ancient City of Sigiriya (1982)

3.      The Ancient City of Anuradhapura (1982)

4.      The Old Town of Galle and its Fortifications (1988)

5.      The Scared City of Kandy (1988)

6.      The Sinharaja Forest Reserve (1988)

7.      The Golden Cave Temple of Dambulla (1991)

8.      The Central Highlands of Sri Lanka (2010)

Contact Us|Feedback|FAQs|Site Map|Sri Lanka Citizen Registration